Q & A
S1 Admission Q&As
 
Does SSC consider only Band 1 students? 
Student's academic results are assessed but his/ her overall profile and performance are also taken into consideration.
 
Does the school consider results of the 3rd internal assessment?
If the student's (first test) results are mediocre and is not considered for the first round of interview in January, he/ she can resubmit the application in July when he/ she has made an improvement in the (third test). 
 
What was the acceptance rate of last year?
The acceptance rate of school year 2021-22 is 10:1. 
 
What is the format of S1 interview?
S.1 admission test will be held face-to-face. Two interviewers will assess the student's English and Chinese (Cantonese/ Mandarin) speaking, logical thinking, use of vocabulary, reading skills etc.
 
Does the school provide school bus service?
The school bus service is provided by school bus operator with routing covering various districts on Hong Kong Island.
 
How to apply for a boarding place?
Boarding application is open in the Second Term. New students may apply for a boarding place after admission. Interested students and their parents should pay attention to the school announcement. Under normal circumstances, priority will be given to new students, especially those who reside in remote areas.
 
Pre-S1 student can apply for boarding starting from January to April.
(The application period is subject to changes. Parents and guardians should stay tuned with the school announcement.)
 
Can parents or guardians visit the dormitories, for better understanding about boarding life?
To protect the health and privacy of our students, unauthorised persons (including parents and guardians) are restricted to enter our dormitories. However, our school may open part of a dormitory in Admission Talk. In addition, a family member may accompany his/her child to enter our dormitory on the check-in day.
 
Can a day student make application for a boarding place in the middle of term? Or can a boarder withdraw from boarding in the middle of term?
Under normal circumstances, application is on a yearly basis, as our activities, orientation and other arrangements are also designed based on one academic year. If a day student would like to apply for a boarding place in the middle of term, we may consider the availability of boarding places as well as other factors including family situation, etc. If a boarder would like to withdraw from boarding, the boarding place will be allocated to the student on the waitlist. In recent years, we often received an overwhelming number of applications and therefore a few students were unable to acquire a boarding place. Students and parents should take this into consideration before withdrawal.
 
Can boarders use computer devices (including smart phones) in the dormitories?
All personal belongings brought to boarding should be related to personal care and hygiene, and learning. For computer devices and unregistered iPad, boarders must make written application and submit it to the respective Dormitory Officer. Only permitted items can be used. Junior boarders must place their smart phones, notebooks, and iPads in a designated locker by 10 P.M. They may collect their iPads next morning and mobile phones after school. This restriction is relaxed for higher form students. In addition, the College strongly advises boarders to communicate with their parents or guardians between 9:30 P.M. and 10:00 P.M. for discussing their learning progress and handling matters related to parent letters, etc.
 
What are the learning arrangements after school for boarders? Are there teachers guiding my child to complete assignments?
On normal school days, students have their leisure time for taking part in various school activities, including ECAs, after school and before supper. Tutorials and pull-out programme will be arranged to S1-2 boarders in the second week of boarding. The first prep lasts for 55 minutes, from 7:15 P.M. to 8:10 P.M.; and the second prep lasts for an hour, from 8:30 P.M. to 9:30 P.M. In the first prep, S1-2 boarders are split into different groups that they may attend tutorials which are supervised by our resident teachers. Besides, they may be allocated to pull-out programmes that resident teachers assist them in learning Chinese, English, and Mathematics. Note that the participants of the pull-out programmes are selected by the College in relation to their academic performance.
 
Can boarders leave campus for attending activities outside school?
Boarders leaving campus for attending activities outside school must make application two days in advance. Their parents or guardians should contact the respective Dormitory Officer and submit a letter for confirmation. On the day of outing, boarders must tap their student ID card at one of the security posts before leaving the campus within the permitted time slot. They must return before the end of the approved time slot. Boarders who have not yet obtained permission cannot leave the campus.
 
How can the discipline in dormitories be upheld?
The Warden, the Deputy Warden, Dormitory Wardens, Assistant Wardens, Dormitory Officers, janitors and Boarder Prefects collaborate closely to ensure that each boarder receives the utmost supervision, guidance and care. Boarders live in close proximity with Dormitory Wardens. Each dormitory, except West Wing Dormitory, has a live-in Dormitory Warden who looks after boarders’ safety and discipline at all times. The rules and regulations of boarding can be found in the Boarders’ Guide. If misbehavour has been found, our boarding staff will look into the incident and educate the related students. Appropriate punishment may be given whenever necessary.
 
When can students wear winter uniform and summer uniform?
Under normal circumstances, the College requires students to wear winter uniform in early November and summer uniform in mid-April, subject to the weather conditions by that time. The College will give them a grace period of at least two weeks to prepare the school uniforms. During the grace period, students may wear either the winter or summer uniform, but not a mix of both. Note that students must wear the winter uniform on Speech Day.
 
Please leave us a message for further questions using the following google form.

 

Contact Information

22 Tung Tau Wan Road, Stanley
Tel: +852 28130360
Fax: +852 28137311
Email: sschk@ssc.edu.hk

Q & A
中一收生的常見問題

是否只有B1 同學才有機會報SSC
學業成績固然重要,但我們同時也會評估學生的整體表現而作決定。
 
如果成績呈一不是很理想,會否考慮呈三成績?
如同學呈一成績未如理想,未能進入首輪面試,同學亦能在呈三成績有進步後,於七月到學校申請「叩門」入學。
 
最近一年報考錄取比例多少?   
上學年報考取錄比例為10:1 。
 
 收生面試將如何進行?
  中一入學面試將會以實體進行,由兩位面試官測試同學的英文和中文 (廣東話/普通話) 能力、邏輯思考、詞彙運用、閱讀興趣等等。
 
學校會提供校車服務嗎?
校車服務由校車承辦商營運,接駁港島各區。

如何申請宿位?
申請下學年宿位在每年下學期開始,準新生可以在獲校方取錄後作出申請,有興趣申請的學生或家長請留意學校公佈。在正常情況下,本校會首先處理準新生的申請,並優先考慮居住較偏遠地區的學生。
 
[申請宿位時段]
準中一新生:一月至四月
確實申請時段或許有異,家長或監護人請留意學校的適時公告。
 
請問學校會否安排宿生家長參觀宿舍?以便給家長們對小朋友在學校之生活瞭解。
為保護宿生健康及其私隱,宿舍不會開放給予任何未經授權的人士參觀。未經許可,任可人士均不得進入學生宿舍,家長或監護人亦只能在宿舍大堂等候。但是,學校每年在中一入學申請簡介會,或會開放部份宿舍給予有意申請報讀學生及其家長或監護人參觀。另外,在宿生入宿當日(即開學前一天),為幫助 貴子弟處理入宿事宜,本校亦容許一位家長或監護人陪同子女進入宿舍及其房間。
 
走讀生是否可以在學年中申請寄宿?另外,宿生可以選擇在年中退宿嗎?
基本上申請宿位是以一個學年為單位,宿舍部的安排、迎新及活動亦均以一學年為設計基礎。若學生想在學年中申請寄宿,宿舍部除了考慮當時宿位情況外,亦會將其他因素如家庭狀況等納入考慮。如宿生在成功申請後,申請退宿,其宿位將由其他申請補上。近年由於申請較為踴躍,部分學生亦未能成功申請。所以,學生及家長在申請退宿時,要慎重考慮。
 
在宿舍內,宿生能使用電腦產品(包括智能電話)嗎?
宿生所攜帶回校的物品應該是用作個人護理、衛生及學習之用。至於其他較為高端物品如手提電腦或非學校指定的平板電腦,如宿生欲攜帶回宿舍,必須事先向宿舍主任作書面申請,經批准後才可使用。初中宿生必須在晚上10時將電子用品如手提電話、平板電腦或手提電腦等存放在宿舍的指定貯物櫃至翌日早上方可取回其電腦產品,而其智能電話在翌日放學後方能取回及只能在指定時段及地方使用。使用手提電話的規範會隨宿生所讀年級而作調整。另外,宿舍部鼓勵宿生在每晚9:30 – 10:00 p.m.聯絡其家長及監護人,交代學習情況、處理家長信等事宜。
 
想知道宿生在課後的學習安排,會否有老師輔導作業等?
在正常上學日,放學後直至晚飯時間,主要是學生的課餘時間,學生可以參加校內不同的課外活動。在開始寄宿的第二個星期,逢星期一至星期三晚上,宿舍都有兩個學習或備課時間。第一個學習或備課時間是7:15 – 8:10 p.m.,而第二個則是8:30 – 9:30 p.m.。中一及中二的宿生,在第一個學習或備課時間,男女宿生各分為兩組,一組是在老師監督下進行自主學習,宿生必須做功課或閱讀課本;另一組則是老師主導的補習班(pull-out programme)。補習班包括中文、英文及數學,主要給予在學習上有困難的宿生,幫助他們學習。學校會根據宿生的學業成績,「邀請」他們參加。
 
宿生出外活動需要申請嗎?
所有宿生在寄宿期間出外活動,必須在活動兩日前透過網上申請,其家長或監護人亦必須聯絡相關的宿舍主任並遞交家長信核實。在活動當日,宿生只能在申請出外時間內於校門保安部拍卡離開校園,該宿生亦必須在申請外出時段內返回宿舍。未經批准,宿生不得離開校園。
 
宿舍部如何維持宿生的紀律?
舍監、副舍監、宿舍舍監、助理舍監、宿舍主任及工友與宿舍學長攜手努力,監督、指導和關顧每位宿生。除西翼宿舍外,每座宿舍均有一名與宿生同住的宿舍舍監,以確保宿生的安全及維持紀律。有關在宿舍的規則,宿生及家長或監護人可參閱宿生守則。宿舍員工如發現宿生違規行為,均會對涉事宿生了解情況及作出教導,如有需要亦會絡予適度懲處。
 
若有其他問題,歡迎家長用以下連結提問 

聯絡我們

赤柱東頭灣道22號
電話: +852 28130360
傳真: +852 28137311
電郵: sschk@ssc.edu.hk